Meet Our Team


Kāpiti Waldorf Trust: proprietor of our land and buildings and the guardian of our ‘Special Character’ for school and kindergarten, also oversees the governance of our Early Childhood Education at Te Rāwhiti Kindergarten

School Board: responsible for Te Rā School’s performance, and ensures that all legal requirements are met


School Tumuaki / Principal: David Nicoll

Kindergarten Kaiārahi / Centre Manager: Tash Robertson

Office Administrator: Cat Hendra

Financial Administrator: Tonia Goodwin-Fox

Caretaker: Jason Grundy

Enrolment Officer: Tash Robertson

Class teachers

Class 1:  Aleka Beaumont

Class 2:  Sharon Wilmshurst & Magrita Freie

Class 3:  Katherine Benge

Class 4: Natasha McLean & Thereza Scott

Class 5: Buck Campbell

Class 6:  Paul Fletcher

Class 7:  Ashley Gibbs

Kindergarten teachers

Ruru Group: Olivia Chubb and Mary Holmes with Åsa Petterson and Dianna Fary

Korimako Group: Beth MacGibbon and Doug Tristram with Fiona Mason-Raynel

Kereru Group: Tina Regtien and Sarah Wheeler with Erin Blayney and Marliesje van den Assum

Riroriro Group: Eija Frost and Rebecca Cooper with Norrita Attwood

Teacher Aide: Jill Murray

Additional staff release: Ben Schmidt and Marliesje van den Assum

Specialist teachers

Literacy Support: Thereza Scott

Eurythmy: Sue Pegler

Handwork: Sharon Wilmhurst

Woodwork: Paul Denford

Kaiako Māori: Rongo Ngata

Cooking: Fiona Walker

Gardening: Christian Boedeker

Art: Maria Protassova

Orchestra: Mary Taylor & Ann White

String Programme: Mary Taylor

Teacher aides

Christine Cangardel & Ben Schmidt

Kāpiti Waldorf Trust (Proprietors Trust)

The Kāpiti Waldorf Trust, as governance body, founded Te Rāwhiti Kindergarten and Te Rā School. The Trust made the choice to negotiate an Integration Agreement with the Ministry of Education in order for Te Rā to become a state-integrated school with a special character (Waldorf School). The Trust continues to be the governance body that safeguards our Special Character. It ensures we deliver high quality Waldorf education and owns and/or leases the land and buildings. The Trust also holds the licence for our kindergartens operating at the Raumati South site.

KWT chair: Joannes Boele van Hensbroek

Other trust members: Sylvia Madden (Kindergarten Licencee), David Simpson, Richard Hale, Doris Zuur, Tash Robertson

Kapiti Waldorf Trust

School Board

Every state, state-integrated schools and kura in New Zealand is governed by a school board, which is a Crown entity. A Crown entity is an organisation that is part of New Zealand’s public sector. The board’s job is to see that everything that needs to be done gets done – legally, ethically, and in the best interests of its students. It is also the employer of all staff, including the principal, and sets the overall strategic direction . The principal is the board’s ‘chief executive’ and manages the school or kura in line with the board’s direction and policies.

Presiding member: Steven Wheeler (elected parent representative)

Māori Whānau reps: Keitaria Haira, Keryn Jones

Other parent reps: Alys Titchener, Anita Mortlock

Principal: David Nicoll

Proprietor’s Rep: Joannes Boele van Hensbroek

Staff rep: Jason Grundy

Board Secretary: Cat Hendra